Awards & Recognition

ICFF Editors’ Awards

Each year, ICFF convenes the industry’s top editors and invites them to scout the floor of the Javits Center, then choose the best of the best of the year’s design crop. And each year, they do, combing the aisles and putting their inestimable seal of approval on the year’s finest designs in 11 categories:

  • New Designer
  • Furniture
  • Seating
  • Carpet and Flooring
  • Lighting
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Wall Coverings
  • Accessories
  • Textiles
  • Kitchen and Bath
  • School

2016 Judges:

  • John Czarnecki, Editor-in-Chief, Contract
  • Wendy Goodman, Design Editor, New York Magazine and Design Hunting, contributing editor at DEPARTURES magazine
  • Paul Makovsky, Editorial and Brand Director, Metropolis
  • Catherine Osborne, Editor-in-Chief, Azure
  • Dan Rubinstein, Home + Design Editor, DEPARTURES

2016 Winners:

Best Seating: Mellow by Océane Delain for Bernhardt Design

Best Portable Design: Champ by Visibility for Matter Made

Best Design for Social Good: Tala

Best Lighting: Concentric by Rob Zinn for Marset

Best Floor Covering: Mid Century Modern Collection by Nasiri

Best Body of Work: The Grain Family, The Church Family and The Ada Family by Brendan Ravenhill Studio

Best First Time Exhibitor: Coil + Drift

Best Storage: Crain Cabinet by Egg Collective

Best Wallcovering: Waynetopia by Wayne White for Flavor Paper

Best Furniture System: RUN by Sam Hecht and Kim Colin for Emeco

Best Kitchen and Bath: Mid by Giovanna Talocci for Effegibi

Best School: Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) for Metaproject 06

2015 Judges:

  • Caroline Williamson, Design Milk
  • Spencer Bailey, Surface
  • David Dick-Agnew, Azure
  • Amanda Dameron, Dwell
  • Annie Block, Interior Design
  • Chantal Hamaide, Intramuros
  • Paul Makovsky, Metropolis
  • Christopher Hyland & Kyle Marshall, Hyland Magazine

2015 Winners:

Best Seating: Hui Ling Cheng for the Tui Chair (a 2015 ICFF Studio finalist)

Best Furniture: Sé Collection

Best Wallcovering: Calico Collection

Best Outdoor: loll Designs for the Sunnyside Collection by Brad Ascalon and Ghislaine Viñas

Best Lighting: Bocci for Bocci73

Best Accessories: Design Memorabilia by George Beylerian 

Best Carpet or Flooring: Lindstrom Collection

Best Textiles: Roros Collection for Kristine Five Melvaer’s “Mikkel” and “Naturpledd”

Kitchen and Bath: Mat Collection by Ceramica Cielo S.p.A

Best School: University of Iowa

Best New Designer: Pepe Heykoop for Tiny Miracles Creations